7.13 Books #9 is out: Josh Denslow’s collection NOT EVERYONE IS SPECIAL, which Kirkus calls “sharp and cutting” and “heartfelt”

173286862x

GET NOT EVERYONE IS SPECIAL AT AMAZON
GET NOT EVERYONE IS SPECIAL AT INDIEBOUND

ISBN: 978-1-7328686-2-5
Distribution: Ingram

A teen who can teleport just wants to make his mom happy. A midget working as an elf in a year-round Christmas-themed amusement park battles his archrival: a condescending Santa. You’ve heard of Fight Club, but have you been to the Underground Punch Market? Like the work of George Saunders crossed with Richard Linklater, Not Everyone Is Special is a collection of slacker fabulist stories that are at once speculative, hilarious, and poignant.

PRAISE FOR NOT EVERYONE IS SPECIAL

“…sharp and cutting…A collection of heartfelt, deftly composed stories about the human condition.”
—Kirkus Reviews

“Josh Denslow’s stories are intricate, fun, and beautiful, though always about heartbreak and loss. They’re like perfect little castles made of jewels and lego bricks that rise out of a howling abyss.”
—Ben Loory, author of Tales of Falling and Flying

“Josh Denslow’s Not Everyone is Special is truly irresistible. Subversive, hilarious, and profoundly moving, these stories should come with a warning label to clear your schedule before you begin because you’ll find yourself binge reading the entire book. A sensational debut.”
—Kirstin Chen, author of Bury What We Cannot Take

“Denslow makes his cast of outsiders, six-time losers, and lovelorn loners both heartbreaking and unforgettable. This debut collection sparkles with heart, bitter satire, and irresistible aplomb.”
—J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

“Denslow does something here that’s refreshing and unique in the literary landscape: he skips the cynicism and heads right for the emotional honesty, producing some of the best dialogue (internal and external) that I’ve read in ages. This book is a genuinely warm and funny book about what it means to be a human in the modern world.”
—Amber Sparks, author of The Unfinished World

“When we meet the characters in Josh Denslow’s stories, they’re almost always already in trouble, and then they go looking for even more—but they do so with such heart and humor that you’ll inevitably fall in love with them, even (or especially) when they’re behaving their well-meaning worst. Not Everyone is Special is a smart and funny debut, often satirical and always generous, perfect for fans of George Saunders or Sam Lipsyte.”
—Matt Bell, author of Scrapper

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s