BORDER LESS by Namrata Poddar covered in the LA Times, NPR, Ms. Magazine, Joann Smith in Kirkus Reviews, and more

Congratulations to Namrata Poddar, whose novel BORDER LESS (7.13 Books #21) has been reviewed by the LA Times, NPR, Ms. Magazine, Buzzfeed, Publishers Weekly, and Booklist, and Joann Smith, whose story collections A HEAVEN OF THEIR CHOOSING (7.13 Books #20), received a great review from Kirkus Reviews!

Check out all the good press here:

The LA Times

NPR

Ms. Magazine

Buzzfeed

Publishers Weekly

Kirkus Reviews

Congrats to our 2022 Titles!

This year, we received nearly 400 submissions and could only pick a handful of titles to publish. Congrats to Jackson Bliss, Namrata Poddar, the late Jim Nawrocki (selected last year), and Tessa Yang! Their books will be published in 2022. Read more about their forthcoming books below.

Very excited to bring these new voices to literary audiences,
L
7.13

*

Jackson Bliss’s AMNESIA OF JUNE BUGS

Pitched in the vein of Karen Tei Yamashita’s I Hotel and Tommy Orange’s There There, 2020 Noemi Prize winner and New York Times contributor Jackson Bliss’s debut novel, Amnesia of June Bugs follows the lives of four people whose paths intersect in New York during Hurricane Sandy as they struggle to create political art, negotiate multicultural identity, and find love in a broken world.

Namrata Poddar’s LADIES SPECIAL, HOMEBOUND

Pitched in the vein of Cristina Henríquez’s The Book of Unknown Americans and Olga Tokarczuk’s Flights, former Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow Namrata Poddar’s novel-in-stories Ladies Special, Homebound, tracks the immigrant journey of an Indian call center agent from Mumbai to greater Los Angeles as well as the South Asian community she leaves behind.

Jim Nawrocki’s HOUSE FIRE

Winner of the 2009 James White Poetry Prize, the late Jim Nawrocki’s HOUSE FIRE will include his award-winning poetry collection as well as his collected stories with a foreword co-written by authors Michael Carroll and Edmund White.

A mother undertakes a cross-country odyssey in search of a mythical restaurant. A ghost contemplates the legacy of Japanese internment while seeking her final resting grounds. A man begins having his girlfriend’s dreams—and learns the consequences of knowing too much about your partner. Reminiscent of the work of Samantha Hunt and Sequoia Nagamatsu, Tessa Yang’s collection THE RUNAWAY RESTAURANT contains thirteen stories that range from magical realism to the speculative about the dynamics of contemporary families, friendships and relationships.

The San Francisco Chronicle says EDIE ON THE GREEN SCREEN is “full of sweet and savory nuggets”

San Francisco Chronicle logo book reviews

“Edie on the Green Screen”
By Beth Lisick
7.13 Books
(244 pages; $19.99)

Edie is in limbo.

“I had recently heard about the idea of a liminal zone and I liked it, probably too much,” writes Beth Lisick, in the voice of the title character in her debut novel, “Edie on the Green Screen.” “I had spent the last twenty-five years thinking that I was there, that I had arrived at my destination and was staying put, but maybe that wasn’t the case.”

When people find themselves in between – in the midst of transition from one mental or circumstantial state to the next – the effect can be disorienting. It can also lead to revelation.

Places can be in between, too. All of San Francisco, of course, has been teetering on a virtual threshold for years now. These two new novels, in very different ways, both have smart, funny and often affecting things to say about our rapidly changing world.

Read the rest of the review at the San Francisco Chronicle.

Announcing Our 2021 List

We’re very excited to announce that we will be publishing these five books of debut fiction (from over 300 submissions) in 2021. If your work is still in the queue, it’s still being considered for 2022.

Thanks,
L
7.13 Books

*

Dionne Irving’s QUINT
(Feb 2021)

In the vein of Zadie Smith’s NW and Valeria Luiselli’s Lost Children Archives, Dionne Irving’s novel QUINT is based on a real-life family of quintuplets who rise to celebrity and fame in Canada in the 1940s.

Dionne -11

Dionne Irving has published fiction and nonfiction in The Missouri Review, Boulevard Magazine, The Crab Orchard Review, and other places. Her essay “Living with Racial Fatigue” was chosen as a 2017 Notable Essay in the Best American Essays collection.

*

Shawn Rubenfeld’s THE EGGPLANT CURSE AND THE WARP ZONE
(March 2021)

A literary comedy in the vein of Howard Jacobson, Shawn Rubenfeld’s novel THE EGGPLANT CURSE AND THE WARP ZONE follow a hapless retro game collector who bumbles and lies his way into an instructorship at a Midwestern prep school where he finds himself pursuing and trying not to pursue a married member of the faculty.

Shawn_Rubenfeld

Shawn Rubenfeld has had short fiction appear in journals such as Columbia Journal and Portland Review. He is a PhD Candidate in Creative Writing at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where he received the Vreeland Award for fiction and teaches courses in literature and creative writing. He lives in Omaha.

*

Caitlin Vance’s THE PAPER GARDEN
(April 2021)

University of Louisiana in Lafayette Ph.D candidate Caitlin Vance’s THE PAPER GARDEN is a darkly humorous, gothic and speculative story collection that explores contemporary queer romances, mother-daughter relationships and mental illness by reimagining fairy tales or myths.

Caitlin Vance author photo

Caitlin Vance is the author of the poetry book Think of the World as a Mirror Maze (Stubborn Mule Press, 2019) and the chapbook The Little Cloud (dancing girl press, 2018). Her stories and poems have appeared in Tin House, The Southern Review, The Rupture, Washington Square Review, and others.

*

Jim Nawrocki’s HOUSE FIRE
(Sept 2021)

Winner of the 2009 James White Poetry Prize, the late Jim Nawrocki’s HOUSE FIRE will include his award-winning poetry collection as well as his collected stories with a foreword co-written by authors Michael Carroll and Edmund White.

jim_nawrocki

Jim Nawrocki’s fiction and essays have appeared in The Molotov CocktailChelsea Station, and the Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide, where he was a regular contributor. His poetry has appeared in PoetryNimrod, and other journals. After struggling with cancer, Jim passed away in 2018 at his home in San Francisco.

*

Joann Smith’s A HEAVEN OF THEIR CHOOSING
(Oct 2021)

Joann Smith’s story collection A HEAVEN OF THEIR CHOOSING meditates on issues ranging from fidelity to faith and mortality in the vein of Grace Paley and Alice Munro.

IMG_1167.jpg

Joann Smith has published stories in many literary journals. Her work has been anthologized and selected as notable stories of the year by Best American Short Stories. She lives and writes in the Bronx and is most drawn to characters who find the extraordinary in their ordinary lives.